18% of Americans used marijuana at least once in 2019.
That makes marijuana the most commonly used, federally illegal drug in the country. Part of the reason for this is that many states have begun legalizing its use.
Arizona is one of the many states that made both medical and recreational marijuana use legal. But what exactly are the Arizona weed laws? Keep reading to learn all about medical and recreational marijuana regulations in Arizona.
Arizona Weed Laws for Medical Marijuana
The first Arizona weed laws passed in 2010. Proposition 203, otherwise known as the Arizona Medical Marijuana Act, heralded the creation of a medical marijuana program.
Today, Arizona marijuana laws allow patients with many conditions to access medical marijuana. These conditions include AIDS, cancer, Crohn’s disease, glaucoma, and Hepatitis C.
Patients receive a written certification from their physician. They may possess 2.5 ounces of marijuana and they can consume edible marijuana in public spaces.
Arizona Weed Laws for Non-Medical Marijuana
One decade later, in November 2020, Proposition 207 passed. The “Smart and Safe Arizona Act” legalized recreational marijuana, with some restrictions, of course.
Arizona marijuana regulations made it legal for adults over the age of 21 to possess up to 1 ounce. Within that 1 ounce, they may have up to 5 grams of marijuana concentrate.
These marijuana laws also made it legal to cultivate up to 6 plants for personal use. You may also transfer up to 1 ounce to someone else as long as there is no payment involved.
Adults wishing to purchase marijuana for legal use must do so at a legal dispensary. Get an idea of what you can purchase at www.aznaturalselections.com.
Additional Arizona Marijuana Laws You Should Know
Recreational marijuana cannot be consumed in public spaces in Arizona. Especially not while near a school or operating a vehicle. Only medical marijuana users are permitted to consume marijuana in public and, even then, only in edible form.
Both medical and recreational users are forbidden to operate a vehicle while under the influence. Indeed, operating a vehicle under the influence of marijuana is considered a DUI and, as such, a misdemeanor felony.
For recreational users, it’s illegal to possess any more than 1 ounce of marijuana at a time. The cultivation of more than 6 plants, possession for sale, and possession of paraphernalia are still considered crimes. These can carry minimum fines of $1000 and even jail time.These marijuana laws also made it legal to cultivate up to 6 plants for personal use. You may also transfer up to 1 ounce to someone else as long as there is no payment involved.
Just like alcohol, it’s illegal for anybody under the age of 21 to possess or consume marijuana. And also like alcohol, it’s a crime to distribute marijuana to anybody under the age of 21.
More on the Law
The first major change to Arizona weed laws came in 2010 when medical marijuana was made legal for patients carrying a written certification. Then, 10 years later, recreational marijuana also became legal in Arizona. Today, adults over the age of 21 can possess up to 1 ounce of marijuana and even cultivate up to 6 plants for personal use.
The laws around marijuana are changing quickly. Keep up with all things legal in our Law section.